On Hodkin’s The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Image

This book took me the longest time to read, so far. I think I’ve spent more than a month to finish this. Reason: Aside from my busy schedule and other extra “curricular” activities, the story haunted me at first. I thought it was creepy. I thought it would disturb my imagination so bad that I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night. It is because I usually have my reading habbit at night, before bedtime. During the first few chapters of the book, I must admit that I was disturbed.Β  I even stopped reading it because I was moved. Moved in a way that I almost had haunting images in my head. I could even imagine those sigthings mentioned in the book, and even worse.

I just went back to reading when someone told me to try reading it during daytime to avoid my “fear” of having creepy imagination. And so I did. Shallow as I may seem, yes. As the story progresses, the “fear” in me grew less and less disturbing. Until the moment I thought and finally realized that it was not that creepy at all. There was indeed romance. Yes, romantic feel wrapped in thrilling unraveling of events. Suspense.

Sometimes, I can relate to the main character. Sometimes I find myself caught in almost the same situation. Not in a way that I also experience hallucinations. I’m not a psycho, of course. I’m not even on medications. I just thought that there really are times when you think of something, and you picture it on your mind to happen, then it does happen! Like magic! But I don’t think it is magic. Coincidence maybe. And no one can explain how coincidence happens.

Just to give my general reaction to this book, I could say that yes, I enjoyed the journey. What I love the most in The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is the use of language by the author. I love how she played with words as she described everything in her book. Sophistication at its edge. Her language here is dynamic. It doesn’t take a genius to feel every word. But, it challenges her readers enough to figure out what some phrases mean.

And as I read the final chapter (of volume one), my curiosity grew bigger and bigger as I approached theΒ  last words. Intriguing, yes it is. And I need to read the sequel. I think, it is a must!

Β 

One thought on “On Hodkin’s The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

  1. This professor is haunted with his creepy imagination as well. The creepiest part of all is that it’s not always his imagination, but reality. Talk about unnerving; and especially around this time of year. Their all around. Humor helps to soothe vexation. For the professor anyway. Intrigue even if worked for attracts the professor too. Book II are you sure you can handle it?

Leave a Reply

