Hopeful for HOPELESS

image

Photo: One of the best paragraphs from the novel – screen grabbed from phone

“Im not going to wish for a perfect life. The things that knock you down in life are tests, forcing you to make a choice between giving in and remaining on the ground or wiping the dirt off and standing up even taller than you did before you were knocked down. Im choosing to stand up taller. I’ll probably get knocked down a few more times before this life is through with me, but I can guarantee you I’ll never stay on the ground.”

Not a 5-star rating despite the beautiful passages found in it. I was just so overwhelmed by the gravity of the conflict. i think it’s too much to take in. The focal point isn’t really on the aspect of cheesy and teeny love story. It’s more about facing life as it is laid to you as ugly as you don’t want it to be. Anyway, apart from the moral juices I gained from this, I think the names of the characters are all cute.

To be honest, I expected more from this novel, as this was recommended to me. I thought I’d be super enthusiastic whenever I’m immersed in the reading. It had me a couple of breaks before I finally finished the book. That’s a clear sign of me being a little unattached to the novel. But I guess I’ll be having an “author break” first. I will read other authors’ works next. Hoover is one bright writer, I can say. But her other works might be needing a little more time to be sleeping in my library.

One thought on “Hopeful for HOPELESS

  1. I understand what you mean about being overwhelmed by the gravity of conflict in a novel; I don’t like reading stories that drop-kick characters from one problem to the next just for the sake of building tension… if I need that kind of stress, I could go to the nearest bar… šŸ˜‰ One of the biggest compliments I get from my own readers is that they “complain” about losing sleep for not being able to put the book down; if a reader can put a book away for a couple days, that’s never a good sign!

Leave a Reply

