To my ex-friend (as inspired by the Facebook page of open letters that matter)

Dear Ex-Friend,

I have come to write this blog as an inspiration that came from a Facebook page I recently read. Thanks to my one true friend, that is also my best friend, for sending me the link to it.

First, let me tell you that I miss you. Yes, I do. And the moment I read the open letter to an ex-friend, I thought of you. And I miss you more.

It is Easter Sunday today. I woke up so early to bring my husband to the airport for he is going back to work. And then I thought of you. I thought of us. Years back, during holy week, we spent time with our families on out-of-town trips. If not, we just stayed home, eat, and chat. Endless chats. Oh how I miss chatting with you.

If by any chance that I will meet you, one day again, I will smile at you. I will probably say hi and even ask you how have you been. Believe me or not, time has healed me. I admit that when we chose our separate ways, I was deeply hurt. It even felt like I broke up with a boyfriend or someone I’m in a relationship with. But after a few years, I’m not sure if it’s 2 or 3 or 4, I can say that I’m OK with it—with all the hurt I felt way back then.

Honestly, there were a few times before when I tried looking up your Facebook page, twitter, and instagram. But we ended up bitterly so you decided to just block me. I can’t blame you for feeling hurt, too. I may have hurt you more than I knew.

But like I said, time has healed me. The hurt was replaced with feeling of longingness. I long for your sound advice whenever I have life challenges. I long for your sweet messages and late night texts that when we weren’t able to reply, that meant we’ve fallen asleep holding our phones. I miss how you took care of me whenever I’m at your place, serving me food you cooked. I miss the feeling that I know I always have you around whenever I want to vent out some of my frustrations without any judgment. I miss seeing you once in a while to have mom talks, Β wifey talks, or even “in-law” talks. I miss sharing my achievement and accomplishments with you. I miss how you tell me that you were proud of what I have become and would want me to serve as your inspiration. I miss you. I miss us.

As time passed by, gone were also the days you and me would sneak some time to have some night runs and a few cigar sticks puffing time. Gone were the days when we were partners in crime—crimes worthy of keeping as secret until the end of time. Gone were the days when we will go on dates, just the two of us, to spend some time of our own. Gone are the so many days that I can’t even remember them all.

For now, let me just tell you this: Thank you. Thank you for being a huge part of my life. We’ve known each other for more than half of our lives now. Thank you. Just thank you.

If ever one day, you find in your heart that you miss me, too, I’m just a tweet or message away. We don’t know each other’s numbers anymore that is why I want to rely heavily on social media for our reconnection. That is, if you want to be reconnected again.

For whatever it is worth, I hope this open letter (as a blog) comes to you. Whether or not we go back to the way we were, I am happy that time helped mend my broken heart and helped me realize a lot of things in life. If there is one important thing time taught me, it is to realize the value of people/person in your life when they are gone.

To you, my ex-friend (best friend actually), I wish all the best in life to come your way.

 

Until then,

Valen

Leave a Reply

